Chocolate Covered Cherry Cheesecake

Standard

Chocolate covered cherries, to me at least, are one of the best treats on Earth.  So naturally, finding a way to turn them into a cheesecake, was necessary.  And ingenious!  I found a recipe from Sweet Anna’s and modified it slightly, as in, I added more chocolate.  Can you blame a girl?  I know I have a picture somewhere… until I locate it, go and take a gander at the pictures on Sweet Anna’s page and drool there.

As I was making this dessert for a diabetic I used as many sugar-free or low sugar ingredients I could get my hands on.  Those that I found included sugar-free oreos, low-sugar cherry pie filling, sugar-free chocolate chips, and Splenda.  I will say it did make it a little sweet for my tastes, but that is the trade off for using sugar-free ingredients.  I don’t think it would have been as sweet if I had used regular ingredients.  I would also recommend using a darker chocolate for the glaze, it would really set off the flavour.

Ingredients:

For the Crust:

25 Oreos, finely crushed
4 Tbsp butter, melted

For the Filling:

4 – 8 oz packages of cream cheese, room temp (works great with 1/3 fat cream cheese!)
3 – large eggs
3/4 cup – sugar
1 tsp – cherry extract (vanilla or almond also work great)
1/2 cup – heavy cream
1 – 21 oz can of cherry pie filling
1/4 cup – cocoa powder
1/4 cup – maraschino cherries, chopped

For the Glaze:

1/2 cup – heavy cream
1 cup – chocolate chips

Let’s Make Bake some Magic

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.

In a medium bowl, stir together the crushed Oreos and melted butter. Press mixture evenly into the bottom of a 10″ spring-form pan, creating about an 1 inch crust along the sides.

In a larger bowl beat the cream cheese until smooth. Beat in the eggs, one a time until well blended. Beat in sugar and cherry extract until smooth. Beat in heavy cream. Divide mixture in half, placing one half into another bowl. Add the cocoa powder to one half and beat until well blended. Add the chopped cherries to the other half.

Pour chocolate half of the mixture onto the crust. Carefully spoon about 2 cups worth of cherry pie filling onto mixture. (Since I love cherries, I used the whole can). Carefully spoon remaining half of the mixture on top of the cherries.

Bake for 1 hour to 1 hour, 15 minutes or until the cheesecake is just set. Cool in the pan. You really want to make sure the cheesecake has had time to completely cool, as the center will break during the next step if it is still warm.

In a microwaveable bowl, heat the heavy cream until it is simmering (about a minute). Add the chocolate chips to the heavy cream and stir until melted and smooth.

Line a rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper. Run a knife along the edges of the cheesecake to release it from the pan, then remove the sides of the springform.

Apply the glaze by smoothing it over the top of the cheesecake, letting it fall off the sides. Refridgerate for at least 3 hours or even better, overnight.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

